Fab4 Fueled by Turner’s Diehl Night Quick Results 5.27

5.27 Mat VL

Mat Williamson goes back-to-back on Diehl Automotive Night

Michael Lake becomes youngest Fab4 Feature winner at 15

Jack Sodeman Jr. dominates, Joey Zambotti perseveres


Sarver, PA (May 27, 2016) Rich Grossman and the fine folks from Diehl Automotive were on hand Friday Night and were treated to some great racing that started with an impressive drive by Mat Williamson from tenth place on the grid to score his second straight win in the Diehl Mods.  Jack Sodeman Jr. was dominant in the Peoples Sprints, leading wire-to-wire from the pole.  Michael Lake and Joey Zambotti each had to recover from midrace snafus to score their feature wins.  Lake jumped the cushion just one time in turns one & two, but it cost him a handful of positions that he got back due to a caution before the leaders returned to the flagstand. He didn’t err a second time.  Instead, Lake held off the charges of Matt Lux, Mike Pegher, Russ King and Alex Ferree to become what we believe to be the youngest Fab 4 feature winner in the almost 50-year history of Don Martin’s Lernerville Speedway at just 15 years of age!  Joey Zambotti also had a couple issues en route to his second Pic-A-Part Sportsman feature win of the season, but made the most of cautions and restarts to secure the victory.





Peoples Natural Gas DIRTcar 410 Sprint Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (23Jr) Jack Sodeman Jr., N. Jackson, OH
  2. (7K) Dan Shetler, Johnstown
  3. (13) Brandon Matus, Wampum
  4. (11) Scott Priester, Rimersburg
  5. (56) Ralph Spithaler, Evans City
  6. (51) John Garvin Jr., Sarver
  7. (10) Carl Bowser, Sarver
  8. (24) Alex Paden, New Wilmington
  9. (46) Michael Bauer, Clarion
  10. (C1) Clay Riney, Wellsburg, WV
  11. (76) Davey Jones, Baden
  12. (33) Brent Matus, Wampum
  13. (40X) Cory Good, Smicksburg
  14. (24X) Sye Lynch, Apollo
  15. (86) Rick Holley, Rochester
  16. (5) Bob McMillan, Apollo
  17. (2) AJ Flick, Apollo
  18. (22) Brandon Spithaler, Evans City
  19. (23) Darren Pifer, Punxsy
  20. (08) Dan Kuriger, New Brighton

Heat Winners: Brandon Matus, John Garvin Jr., Ralph Spithaler

B-Main Winner: Sye Lynch


Precise Racing Products DIRTcar Late Models Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (27) Michael Lake, Uniontown
  2. (111) Matt Lux, Franklin
  3. (1C) Mike Pegher Jr., Wexford
  4. (56) Russell King, Bristolville, OH
  5. (10) Alex Ferree, Saxonburg
  6. (29) Ken Schaltenbrand, Sarver
  7. (14) Dan Angelicchio, Greensburg
  8. (10L) Gary Lyle, Hyde Park
  9. (88) Chuck Sarver, West Sunbury
  10. (4) Ed Ferree, Valencia
  11. (8S) Tommy Schirnhofer, Dormont
  12. (33X) Greg Beech, Greece City
  13. (81) Mike Miller, Chicora
  14. (B1) Brandon Wearing, Callery
  15. (9) Clayton Kennedy, Mars
  16. (B8) Tom Bateman, Carnegie
  17. (72B) Jim Kurpakus, Leechburg
  18. (36) Tony Musolino, Pittsburgh
  19. (3) Dan Swartzlander, Freeport
  20. (72) Michael Norris, Sarver
  21. (09) Bill Kessler, Cranberry Twp.

Heat Winners: Ed Ferree, Michael Lake, Russ King

B-Main Winner: Michael Norris


Diehl Automotive DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modified Feature: (25 Laps)

  1. (6) Mat Williamson, St Catharines ONT
  2. (165) Rex King Jr., Bristolville, OH
  3. (45) Steve Feder, Butler
  4. (83) Brian Swartzlander, Leechburg
  5. (777) Kevin Bolland, New Brighton
  6. (66) JR McGinley, Frogtown
  7. (37MD) Jeremiah Shingledecker, Polk
  8. (64) Rodney Beltz, Ellwood City
  9. (23) Jimmy Weller, Liberty, OH
  10. (61) Dave Murdick, Meridian
  11. (13) Rick Regalski, Slippery Rock
  12. (03) Mark Frankhouser, Philipsburg
  13. (3E) Eric Gabany, Mercer
  14. (96) Mike Turner, Herman
  15. (3K) Shawn Kozar, Renfrew
  16. (28) Tom Winkle, Mars
  17. (75) Jeff Miller, Sarver
  18. (88) Shawn Fleeger, Butler
  19. (29) Garrett Krummert, Butler

DNS (27R) Dave Reges, Butler

Heat Winners: JR McGinley, Rex King Jr.


Millerstown Pic-A-Part DIRTcar Sportsman Feature: (20 Laps)

  1. (948) Joe Zambotti, Kittanning
  2. (28Y) Terry Young, Butler
  3. (35) Tyler Dietz, Saxonburg
  4. (C33) Corey McPherson, Tarentum
  5. (9R) Brian Stivenson, Freeport
  6. (11) Aaron Easler, Butler
  7. (3S) Paul Schreckengost, Creighton
  8. (380) Pat Hanley, Monroeville
  9. (31) Noah Brunnell, New Alexandria
  10. (30) Bob Egley, Kittanning
  11. (10) John Hartman, Cabot
  12. (5) Joe Gombach, Claridge
  13. (66) Joe Kelley, Mt. Pleasant
  14. (29B) Scott Byers, Butler
  15. (26) Mike Bordt, Mars
  16. (91) Sadie Siegel, Saxonburg
  17. (23) Colin Burke, Sarver
  18. (25) Brett McDonald, Saxonburg
  19. (27) Brandon Wearing, Callery
  20. (21) Jeff Miller, Natrona Heights

Heat Winners:  Terry Young, Tyler Dietz


Car Count Total: 87

Peoples TWP Sprints: 24

Precise Late Models: 23

Diehl Modifieds: 20

Pic-A-Part Sportsman: 20


Contact: Lernerville Speedway

Eric J. Westendorf, Public Relations Director

(724) 664-1075 / ewestendorf@tsmlernerville.com

Photos Courtesy of John Stivason/Stivason Photos



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s